You can tell when I have a lot of school work because I blog more…..

by Sarah Rose

Finals are approaching.  It’s the worst and best time of the semester.  The end is so near that I can taste it.  It’s warm outside and all I can think about is summer.  Sitting in a class room is seriously torture.  Sitting in my room studying is also torture.  But come May 7th I am done!!

My “study time” usually entails:

Putting on my “Study Playlist” and dancing around for 20-30 minutes.

Having a Gilmore Girls DVD in my computer for those well deserved hour-long breaks.

People watching out my window (currently my roommates are outside long boarding and I’m crying).

Re-reading Catcher in the Rye for the 3rd time.

Eating the remains of my Easter candy- my parents always give us the best stuff.

Texting friends when I usually hate texting.

Catching up on every blog I have ever been to.

Writing on this blog.

Actual studying.

At this rate I will be up all night before I get everything done.  But, hey- all that matters is that I get it done.  It doesn’t matter that 2 hours of work takes me 6.  That’s the way I like it.  I have coffee in the pot and Outcast on the stereo.

Today during a lecture I was reminded of all those times zoning out since i was a young girl. I always had better stories going in my head than the ones in the lecture spilling from the teacher in front of me.  My worlds and people I created were always much more exciting than those in my professor’s words.  (This reminds me of a favorite line in Little Women when Josephine March says, “Late at night my mind would come alive with voices and stories and friends as dear to me as any in the real world. I gave myself up to it, longing for transformation.”)  I always have different scenarios ready to be summoned as my entertainment for the hour of class I am about to sit through.  In all of them the protagonist is always some version of myself.  The version of me that is fluent in 5 languages and always gets good grades without studying.  Sometimes I’m a crazy chick that beats up murderers and rapists.  Sometimes I’m a mom in Italy with the coolest 5 year old kid there ever was.  Or a renowned writer in a beautiful house in Colorado spending my days working on my next novel.  No matter what theses stories always end well and in my favor.  Through them I have figured out who I want to be, and who I am.  It’s been 20 years of day dreaming.  It’s probably my favorite hobby.  I just wish there was a little man with a typewriter in my brain that had every one of them trapped on paper instead of suspended in some never-never land where I can’t completely retrieve them.

